The best of Finnish fashion: Samuji.

As I had previously promised , I will post the selection of my ten favorite places in Helsinki. This list was specially  compiled  for an article I wrote about the lovely city of Helsinki, my current geographic location, for Wish Casa magazine in May 2012.  The original text in the picture is in Portuguese, but the translation to english is found right below, on the post.  Specially for my fellow Brazilian friends who also share a thing for the nordic aesthetics, my favorite Finnish fashion brand:  Samuji.

Samuji!

“Samuji’s clothes are full of Finnish identity. Their values comprise functionality, the love for necessary things and kindness. The collections are composed by a few items, which are aesthetically timeless. Alongside the seasonal collections, there is also a permanent collection called “Samuji Classics”, consisted of strategic pieces, which are thought to survive trends . Their first shop is charmingly small, but located in a very noble spot in Helsinki. Its architecture is as elegant as the clothes found inside.”

In 1’16”, the short-film below summarizes my love for Samuji and, specially, my love for Helsinki. Samu-Jussi Koski, Samuji’s designer and director of this film, has the rare ability to make everything look effortlessly sophisticated. The frugal, though disturbingly beautiful ride of a carefree girl on her blue bike around Helsinki made me emotional, probably because I have already lost a piece of my heart to this land, where moments like the one in the film can really happen on a sunny day. Preferably  all dolled up in Samuji, from head to toe.

Last June, Samu-Jussi gave me the kindest, most honest interview for my Master’s research. I’ll must certainly be writing about it, here, as soon as I find the time.

2 Comments

Filed under Finland, Travel

2 responses to “The best of Finnish fashion: Samuji.

  1. juliana givisiez

    uhuhuuuuuu! vc apareceu por dois dias consecutivos! adorei. tao bom conhecer o mundo com seus olhos. beijocas.

    • patriciaoiti

      Devia ter deixado pra semana que vem, né?
      Um por semana pelo, menos. Queimei cartuxo, pô, Juliana!
      Agora tô sem assunto e sem tempo pro da semana que vem.
      Invento um, se você prometer aparecer por aqui.
      Beijos! Fala pras meninas! Saudade!

Leave a comment